Jones County EMS Advisory Council Meeting

May 4, 2022

Members present in-person: Members present via ZOOM: Members absent:

Brenda Leonard - Gregory Blythe - Brian Podaski

- Britt Smith
- Chris Lux
- Dennis Coon
- Jake Gravel
- Jean McPherson
- Jeff Hinrichs
- Jeff Swisher
- Jen Uthoff
- Jill Parham
- Joyce Bilow
- Karla Koehler
- Katrina Rix
- Kim Krutzfield
- Margo Ahrendsen
- Mark Robertson
- Sheila Frink
- Stan Rieter
- Whitney Hein

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. and all members introduced themselves.

Whitney Hein, Jones County Auditor, presented Iowa Code Section 422D and information on current property tax valuations and the income surtax base of Jones County residents. There was discussion among the council members on Iowa Code Section 422D.6 which outlines acceptable uses of the potential EMS tax levy funds.

The Council elected a Chair and Vice-Chair.

Moved by Denny Coon seconded by Mark Robertson to elect Margo Ahrendsen as Chairman. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Jeff Hinrichs seconded by Chris Lux to elect Stan Reiter as Vice-Chairman. All aye. Motion carried.

The Chairman led discussion on researching and assessing the needs of EMS services within the County. Sheila Frink and Britt Smith stated that there has been some data compiled from the various services within the county including employee/volunteers counts, budget and financial information, and equipment age and needs. There has been some informal discussion during the Jones County EMS Association meetings between EMS services on what the needs are, but the needs should be presented to this Council so that all members are on the same page.

Shelia Frink stated that Jones Regional Unity Point marketing team has volunteered their marketing team to help with marketing efforts. The Jones County EMS Association will pay for the costs of printing the materials. The EMS Association would like to see grass root efforts start in June.

The Jones County EMS Association will meet on May 11, 2022 to finalize the data from the services so that it can be presented to this group. The Jones County EMS Advisory Council will meet on May 18, 2022 at 6:30 PM in the Community Room of the Jones County Courthouse.

Moved by Mark Robertson seconded by Denny Coon to adjourn the meeting at 7:22 p.m. All aye. Motion carried.